• Home /
  • Blog / A Labour Mayor and Council for Bristol.

A Labour Mayor and Council for Bristol.

As the dust settles from May’s all-out City Council elections and Bristol’s second mayoral election, the results for Bristol have been described as a “great day for Labour” by Helen Holland, Labour’s council group leader. 

With counting completed, Bristol has elected a Labour Mayor in Marvin Rees and gained a further seven councillors to take majority control of the City Council. Marvin Rees was sworn into office after taking nearly 60% of the vote and 30,000 more votes than the independent, George Ferguson. Turnout was 44.76% with 141,790 votes cast. Mr Rees will now put together his cabinet, which he has promised will bring together councillors from different parties.  Marvin has promised to create a Bristol for all and our members and councillors look forward to working with him.










It was also a good day for Bristol West councillors. Our CLP now has nine City Council councillors with six of them sworn in after the first Bristol all-out elections. Our Bristol West councillors are as follows: 

Mike Davies             Ashley

Carole Johnson       Ashley

Tom Brook               Bishopston & Ashley Down

Kye Dudd                 Central

Paul Smith              Central

Ruth Pickersgill       Easton

Afzal Shah               Easton

Margaret Hickman  Lawrence Hill

Hibaq Jama             Lawrence Hill

Our Bristol West councillors will work tirelessly on behalf of their constituents. Full contact details for our councillors will follow.

We look forward to all Marvin Rees and a Labour-led City Council will achieve for Bristol. 


View the full set of election results at the Bristol City Council website.

Do you like this post?


Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
Liquid syntax error: Error in tag 'subpage' - No such page slug cookies